COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Meeting was held September 19, 2024 10:00 A.M. 12:00 P.M. The meeting was available via Zoom and was conducted in person at 1385 S State St. Salt Lake City, UT 84115 An audio recording of this meeting can be found at <u>https://www.utah.gov/pmn/files/1172593.m4a</u>

An audio recording of this meeting can be found at <u>https://www.utan.gov/phili/mes/11/2595.m</u>

Materials covered at the meeting and referenced in these Minutes can be found at https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/notice/935177.html

Kendall Crittenden Chairs this Committee

Board Members in Attendance:

Kendall Crittenden (Representing Mountainland Region) Matt Tippets (Representing Uintah Basin Region) Mark Allen (Representing Wasatch Front Region) Larry Jacobsen (Representing Bear River Region) Danny Van Wagoner (Representing Southeastern Region) Paul Cozzens (Representing Five County Region) Scott Bartholomew (Representing Six County Region)

AOG Representatives in Attendance:

Kevin Yack (Representing Uintah Basin AOG) Nate Billes (Representing Uintah Basin AOG) Christy Dahlberg (Representing Wasatch Front RC) Korrin Olson (Representing SERDA/SEUALG) Shay Morrison (Representing Six County AOG) Cody Christensen (Representing Five County AOG) Jessica Delore (Representing Mountainland AOG) Heather Mills (Representing Mountainland AOG) Brian Carver (Representing Bear River AOG) Brenna Tabone ((Representing Bear River AOG)

Supporting Staff Present:

Jennifer Domenici Assistant Director Zach Leavitt CDBG Program Manager Paul Moberly Office of Community Development Program Manager Kathryn Halterman Program Manager Tamara Dockstader CDBG Program Spc Janell Quiroz HCD Administrative Asst Julie Tuimauga CDBG Program Spc Nicole Kerr CDBG Program Spc Elliot R. Lawrence DWS Attorney

Additional Invited Attendees:

Kelly Jorgensen HUD Abby Adams HUD

- 1. Welcome & Introduction Kendall
 - a. The Chairman, Kendall Crittenden, opened the meeting at 10:00 A.M. He welcomed the Committee members, and other attendees and introduced new AOG representatives and Staff.
- 2. Acceptance of March 14 Meeting Minutes Kendall Crittenden MOTION
 - a. Motion to approve the Meeting Minutes of the Committee's meeting on March 14, 2024 was made by committee member Danny Van Wagoner and seconded by committee member Mark Allen. A vote of affirmation was given by all members present, there was no additional discussion on the motion nor dissenting votes.
- 3. Oath of Office and Conflict of Interest Elliot R. Lawrence
 - a. All committee members took the Oath of Office, witnessed by Elliot R. Lawrence.
- 4. CASI/Capital Improvements List Paul Moberly
 - a. Paul Moberly Explained the purpose of the CASI and how it is used in CIB. The committee members and AOG representatives discussed their current procedures and best practices and the feasibility of a CASI type mandate. A link to the presented memo is here https://www.utah.gov/pmn/files/1171237.pdf
- 5. CDBG Method of Distribution Discussion Zach Leavitt
 - a. Zach Leavitt read through the Method of Distribution handout explaining that it is the method that has been in place for the last 3 years but that it needs to be reapproved every 3 years and that that approval will be a part of the motion on agenda item 6. The handout can be found here https://www.utah.gov/pmn/files/1171241.pdf
- 6. 2025 CDBG Application Policies & Procedures Zach Leavitt MOTION
 - a. Zach Leavitt listed and expounded on the handbook changes proposed. The changes can be found here <u>https://www.utah.gov/pmn/files/1171375.pdf</u>
 - b. Handbook discussions were around timing, public notice and hearing policies, invitation to bid processes lack of newspaper options, and public notice website options.
 - c. Motion to approve the policy book with proposed changes and the method of distribution as discussed, motion made with a contingency that SERDA still needs to perform rating and ranking posted for public comment and adopted by the local policy board, the motion was made by committee member Mark Tippets and seconded by committee member Mark Allen. All members voted in the affirmative and there were no dissenting votes.
 - d. Post motion Zach Leavitt explained that over the next several months the Staff will be working with the AOGs to propose an overhaul of many of the processes to simplify and streamline the user experience. These changes should be ready for review and a motion to adopt or continue research and development by the March meeting.
- 7. 2024 "How to Apply Workshop" Schedule Kendall Crittenden
 - a. The How to Apply Workshop schedule can be found here https://www.utah.gov/pmn/files/1171239.pdf
 - b. Chairman Kendall Crittenden asked the AOGs to share there experiences so far this year and the interest shown in the next scheduled workshops.

- 8. Policy Committee Member Information/Terms Kendall Crittenden
 - a. Paul Cozzens' (Representing Five County Region) term is up at the end of the year, he is continuing for another term.
 - b. Scott Bartholomew's (Representing Six County Region) term is up at the end of the year. He will be replaced by Greg Jensen
 - c. Danny Van Wagoner's (Representing Southeastern Region) term is up at the end of the year, he will be continuing for another term.
- 9. CDBG 2025 Yearly Program Schedule Zach Leavitt
 - a. Zach Leavitt read through the Program schedule that can be found here <u>https://www.utah.gov/pmn/files/1171245.pdf</u>
- 10. Other Business
 - a. R6 has a new address
- 11. Next Meeting
 - a. Meeting set for March 20, 2024
- 12. Adjourn
 - a. Motion to adjourn was made by committee member Mark Allen and seconded by committee member Danny Van Wagoner
 - b. Meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Minutes Certified by: <u>Janell Quiroz</u> Minutes approved on: _____